Skip to content

Delicious Recipes; Dinner – Crunchy Potato Balls and Asian Glazed Salmon Part 1

January 8, 2013

Hi everyone!! 

When I was younger, my dad used to tell my siblings and I his love story with potatoes. He used to tell us that the cheapest and easiest thing to cook “in his days” was potatoes. Because of this, we always always had potatoes and we always heard of how one can never go wrong with potatoes.  Whenever my sisters and I go grocery shopping, we never ever forget to buy potatoes.. because you never know when you might need them. You can fry, mash, bake and even make them into crunchy little balls like we are going to do today! I’m soo excited to share this because I was a little skeptical about how it would taste, the texture, and if my sisters would like them. I’m glad I took the risk because they were like truffles, hard on the outside( sometimes crunchy) and soft and yummy on the inside!

This is part one of my recipe, I’ll be sharing the Crunchy Potato Balls. Tomorrow, I’ll share the Asian Glazed Salmon (which is amazing by the way!)

I cooked for only 3, so if you are cooking for a larger crowd, you can double the measurements I used. I also left out the eggs, and cheese because my sisters don’t like things that have uncooked eggs.. and I personally hate cheese (but not on pizza!) but you can always use the original recipe given below.

Recipe adapted from  Healthy Recipe Blogs

5 Russet Potatoes

1 tsp of salt

1 tsp of red pepper flakes

1/4 cup of heavy cream

1/2 cup of plain bread crumbs

Olive oil to spray, I used Canola oil spray

In a medium or large pot, put in salt and potatoes, let boil for about 20 minutes. I usually test the softness of the potatoes by using a fork to test if it breaks apart, if it does, its ready.

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees, and prepare your pan for placement by spraying it with olive oil

Drain potatoes and transfer back into pot

Add red pepper flakes, and mash potatoes together.

Gradually add heavy cream, mixing and mashing to get a  mashed potatoes consistency

In a plate, place bread crumbs

Using a tablespoon, scoop mashed potatoes and use clean hands to roll mashed potatoes into a ball

Once done, roll the potato ball on the bread crumbs and place on the already made pan

Spray olive/canola oil on potato balls

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until they are golden

Eat and Repeat!

for step by step instructions click here 

Have a great Evening!! 

Love, Dee!

Leave a Reply

