Skip to content

Family; The Stories That Bind Us – NY Times

March 21, 2013

I was reading the NY Times, and I came across this article – 

I hit the breaking point as a parent a few years ago. It was the week of my extended family’s annual gathering in August, and we were struggling with assorted crises. My parents were aging; my wife and I were straining under the chaos of young children; my sister was bracing to prepare her preteens for bullying, sex and cyber-stalking. Sure enough, one night all the tensions boiled over. At dinner, I noticed my nephew texting under the table. I knew I shouldn’t say anything, but I couldn’t help myself and asked him to stop.

Ka-boom! My sister snapped at me to not discipline her child. Click Here to continue the story

I read the whole story and It got me thinking, I really never talked to my grandparents to understand how life was for them. It was only when I got older that I started to actually CARE what my parents thought, what they wanted in life and understand much more about what my family is about. I was reading the comments and it’s quite sad to see when people care less about their family because of what happened in the past. I’m not one to judge, and I did not go through what they did, but I wonder, If I was their kid, and as a family we went through Bad things, would they want me to disregard them when I get older and have my own kids ?

I’ve also noticed that my generation and the ones below me are sucked into the Instant life, where we are on Facebook(guilty), Instagram(guilty), Kinect (guilty), Pinterest (very guilty) ,Vine, and so many other social networks that we forget what’s really important.  I kind of went on an Instagram fast and I realized how addicted I was to Instagram.  My excuse is that we are evolving.. Aren’t we ?

 In the article , it was said that the ones that know about their families past, are the ones that can fend better when faced which challenges, Is this true ? (I think it is)   

If you read the article, what did you think of it ? 

Have a great day!! 

Love, Dee! 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

